What is Vanish Mode in Instagram and how it works?

Over the past few years, social media has grown exponentially. There are many social media platforms like Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, etc. Instagram is one of the leading social media platforms that emphasize photos, videos, stories sharing through a mobile app. It works on smartphones like iPhone, Android, and iPad.

You can publish visual content and people may follow you. The followers may like, comment or share, your photos and videos. You can interact with other users or friends through private messaging (chat). It is one of the excellent ways to find new friends or communicate with friends at personal as well as business level. Celebrities or Business organizations share their pictures to increase their fame and brand awareness. As the best practice, you can also schedule Instagram posts. The general people may post their memories of traveling or any homemade food images or stories, etc. clicked via mobile for fun sake.

Direct messaging with friends

You can chat with your friends or message someone through the Instagram platform’s direct messaging feature. It saves your chat messages, and it becomes challenging and time-consuming to delete the messages which you don’t want in the future. Now here comes an incredible feature “Vanish mode” launched by Instagram in September 2020. As per Adam Mosseri, Head of Instagram, billions of messages are sent by people daily. People want to communicate in private spaces more nowadays. There are so many features offered on Instagram to make your messaging interesting like Selfie stickers, emojis, and selfies, and a new way to Watch Together.

What does Vanish mode in Instagram mean?

The Vanish mode on Instagram is the facility that deletes the messages after you finish the chat or after they are seen by the other user automatically. It is not the default mode of the chat, and you need to activate it. It works in one-to-one chat and deletes messages instantly when you are personally chatting with your friend, and sometimes you send awkward or crazy messages for fun’s sake and you don’t want them to be stored for a longer time. Making Vanish mode enabled will solve your problem.

How to enter and enable Vanish mode in Instagram?

The Vanish mode needs to be activated as it is not a default mode when you open a chat in the Mobile App. You can follow the following steps to activate the vanish mode.

  • You need to log in to the Instagram application on your device.
  • For direct messaging or private chat, click on the top right, as given in Image 1.
  • Open chat window with whom you want to talk in Vanish mode.
  • Just Swipe up from the bottom of the screen and Vanish mode will be enabled, as depicted in image 2. This way you enter vanish mode in Instagram and your screen will go black. When it is turn on, it will delete the messages once they are read by the user and chat is over. If somebody takes a snapshot of the screen, the notification will be displayed on the screen as an alert.
  • If you don’t want to get messages via enabled vanish mode, you can block them and report about them.

To disable the Vanish mode, you have to swipe up again from the bottom or tap the message given on top of the screen “Turn off Vanish mode”. Once you turn off the mode, you can send messages or visual messages in a normal way and that will again start storing the chat history.

What is Vanish Mode in Instagram and how it works? What is Vanish Mode in Instagram and how it works

Conclusion: Instagram Vanish mode feature enables you to send direct messages in the form of videos, stickers, personal photos, etc. without storing them in the chat history.

Stay connected and keep reading our blogs for further updates!